Blog Tour – Angel’s Feather by Alina Popescu

Angel’s Feather by Alina Popescu

Recently released gay science fiction novella Angel’s Feather, the first book in the Flyer Chronicles series.

Angel’s Feather Synopsis

How far would you go for the one you love? How much of yourself would you sacrifice?

Trapped on a decaying Earth and cut off from the rest of the Universe, humans are no longer allowed to leave their planet. Break this one law and you die: a penalty enforced by flyers, aliens who look like angels of long-lost religions. Michael, the flyers’ leader, is the Punisher who carries out every public execution.

Adam, a young human with near-perfect memory, is committed to rebuilding Earth and a true believer in the flyers’ dominion. While Adam’s support for flyers isn’t a secret, his deep love for Michael is. Not even Michael knows, for his kind never take human lovers, and to Adam, they are too far above him to reach.

In his broken and unwelcoming world, Adam’s love can only lead to pain, loss, and disaster. Yet there is no force in the huge expanse of stars and galaxies that can stop Adam from following Michael to the end of existence. Not even Adam’s own beliefs.

Buy now:

Angel’s Feather is free to read with Kindle Unlimited subscriptions.

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06Y6BWX9V

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B06Y6BWX9V

Amazon AU: https://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B06Y6BWX9V

Amazon DE: https://www.amazon.de/dp/B06Y6BWX9V

Angel's Feather by Alina Popescu

Exclusive Excerpt

“Sit here with me, please.” I did the best impression of pleading eyes I could muster. I knew they were still bruised, my whole face puffy enough to mask any kind of expression I’d make. Michael nodded and sat lightly on the side of the bed, his knee bent. I could have released his arm, but chose not to. I’d been getting away with a lot on account of having been beaten so badly. Almost killed, my mother had said. My skull had been cracked, a few shattered ribs, a broken knee and arm… I should have been a cripple, but Michael had used some of his medicine and nanobots to repair me. They’d gone through my body, leaving a trail of metal behind.

“You’ve broken enough rules healing me. Please, stop.”

He smiled warmly and placed his hand over mine. The heat I felt made me moan softly and close my eyes.

“I’ve broken no rules. I have free reign as long as I protect those who help us enforce the laws.”

I chuckled and tilted my head. “Michael, I’ve never pegged you for someone who’d know their way around loopholes.”

He winked and suddenly looked like a young menace, a rascal up to no good. I once again was thankful for the way my brain worked. I would always be able to remember these expressions.

“Don’t you worry about any of it. I am better at navigating inter-stellar law than you think.”

He removed the hand covering mine, but never tried to brush me off. I took my opening and lightly caressed his forearm with my fingers, my eyes locked on him, gauging his reaction. Michael closed his eyes, his head falling forward. I ran my fingers along his upper arm and finally, gathering all my courage, cupped his face with a now very shaky hand. He leaned into the touch and moaned softly.

Review

I’m not really into sci-fi but the premise of Angel’s Feather attracted me and I was curious to see how it is developed.

From the first few pages I knew I won’t be disappointed and by the end the only thing I wanted to know was when Flyer Chronicles #2 is coming out.

The narrative is from first person POV but this is not the only thing which makes Adam a truly relatable character. He has this realistic and mature attitude towards the world he lives in, the circumstances which lead to people’s downfall (which ring true and close to home nowadays), and even to his infatuation with Michael. That’s what really charmed me in this book: he is in love but he doesn’t forsake his sobriety.

The secondary human characters assist in creating the full picture and one of the flyers, Samandriel, is truly a material for a separate book (who knows, maybe Alina Popescu has it up her sleeve.)

I can’t say much more for fear of spoiling any potential reader’s enjoyment but…

an angel-like creature who never knew lust meets a human who shows him how far one can go because of love, on the background of a world in debris and distant galaxies. 

Like…What more can you want?

 

Giveaway

Prizes: $10 Amazon Gift Card; 3 x ebook copy of science fiction short story Craving Stains.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About the author

Author Alina PopescuWriter, traveler, and coffee addict, Alina Popescu has been in love with books all her life. She started writing when she was ten and she has always been drawn to sci-fi, fantasy, and the supernatural realm. Born and raised in Romania, she finds her inspiration in books of all genres, in movies, and the occasional manga comic book. She is a proud geek who needs her fast Internet and gadgets more than she needs air.

Keep up with Alina Popescu’s books and get rewards by singing up for her newsletter.

Social Links

Site & Blog: http://alina-popescu.com

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/authoralinapopescu

Twitter: http://twitter.com/alina_popescu

Instagram: http://instagram.com/alinapopescuwriter

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/alina-popescu

Google+:  https://www.google.com/+AlinaPopescu

Amazon:  http://amazon.com/author/alinapopescu

Leave a Reply

