Guest Corner: Louise Lyons on her Favorite Toy and a Trip of a Lifetime

Rock music is playing in the background because that’s what my guest likes listening to and you may notice it in some of her books. She’s an early riser and a mountain enthusiast.

Welcome to my café, Louise!  Tell me something about yourself in one sentence.

I am energetic, determined, strong, and often irritated by my own failings.

So what are you up to these days?

I’ve been very busy. The last few months have been hectic and sometimes stressful, but it’s settling down now. My housemate moved out, I had 6 weeks alone and then my partner moved in, my puppy had surgery, and there weren’t enough hours in the day for me for a while. I’ve been fitness training too, for a trekking trip of a lifetime. But although writing has been slow, I’ve still managed two releases so far this year, with Regeneration, my first sci-fi, and Separation, a taboo novella. I’m working on extending an old short story from an anthology at the moment.

Finish the sentence: Writing for me is

a release of ideas and emotions, and the creation of worlds I can lose myself in.

Which book you’d recommend to someone who wants to get acquainted with your writing?28499634

I’ll say Favorite Toy. It’s a novella, so it’s not too long so someone can get a taste of me without spending too much time doing it. It has sweetness, a little bit of angst, sexiness and love, and it has a HEA. It’s an opposites attract story.

What are the first 3 sentences on page 55 of that book?

 

“We’ll have to see what we can do about that later, if you behave yourself in the restaurant.” Casper’s eyes twinkled. He looked left and right, and surreptitiously slid his hand down to squeeze my ass.

 

Which is your spirit animal?

A horse. I’ve loved horses my whole life and always imagined what it would be like to be one. I imagine there’s a little bit of horse in me somewhere.

Does your day job impact your writing in anyway (except stealing time from it)?

Yes, because sometimes it makes me stressed and then I can’t relax and call up my imagination to put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard).

Which of your characters you’d love to have us join us in the café? Why?

Casper from Favorite Toy. I love Casper to bits. He’s loud, funny, and can’t stop talking. We wouldn’t be able to get a word in, but we’d be delightfully entertained. I love him so much I named my puppy after him.

One thing you want to accomplish until the end of the year.

Writing-wise or other? Actually, both are connected, although it’s more an intention than a hope. I’m climbing Kilimanjaro in October, a trek I’ve been planning since the end of 2015.

Mount_Kilimanjaro
Image source: basecamptanzania.com

It will take 7 days and I plan to make notes of every step of the way. It is still a hope that I get to the summit, because not everyone makes it, due to altitude sickness. But as soon as I get home, I’m going to start turning my notes into a book. It’ll be a “boy plans to climb the mountain, boy signs up and meets boy in training, boy falls in love with boy on the trek.” I think that would be a wonderful story to write and I bet there isn’t another book like that!

Thank you for being with me Louise! I’m keeping my fingers crossed for your journey of a lifetime and I can’t wait to read the book that will come out of it. 

Oh wait, Louise brought a present for you! I’m sure Casper sparkled your curiosity and here’s a chance to enjoy his story with your coffee next Saturday.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Author Bio

IMG_20150912_165728167Louise Lyons comes from a family of writers. Her mother has a number of poems published in poetry anthologies, her aunt wrote poems for the church, and her grandmother sparked her inspiration with tales of fantasy.

Louise first ventured into writing short stories at the grand old age of eight, mostly about little girls and ponies. She branched into romance in her teens, and MM romance a few years later, but none of her work saw the light of day until she discovered FanFiction in her late twenties. Posting stories based on some of her favourite movies, provoked a surprisingly positive response from readers. This gave Louise the confidence to submit some of her work to publishers, and made her take her writing “hobby” more seriously.

Louise lives in the UK, about an hour north of London, with a mad dog called Casper, and a collection of tropical fish and tarantulas. She works in the insurance industry by day, and spends every spare minute writing. She is a keen horse-rider, and loves to run long-distance. Some of her best writing inspiration comes to her, when her feet are pounding the open road. She often races home afterward, and grabs pen and paper to make notes.

Louise has always been a bit of a tomboy, and one of her other great loves is cars and motorcycles. Her car and bike are her pride and job, and she loves to exhibit the car at shows, and take off for long days out on the bike, with no one for company but herself.

Social Media

Facebook || Twitter || Pinterest || Instagram || Blog  || Email

2 thoughts on “Guest Corner: Louise Lyons on her Favorite Toy and a Trip of a Lifetime

Leave a Reply

