Alina Popescu on the Scents that Inspire Her and This Year’s Plans

IMG_4424The coffee is served, because if you don’t know, my guest today survives mainly on coffee and passion for writingWelcome to my café, Alina!

Thank you so much for having me! I appreciate the coffee offering, it will certainly please the gods of writing 😃 You run an amazing café and it’s always a pleasure to be here.

Except the smell of coffee in the morning, do you have any other favorite scents?

Hmmm… I am hungry at the time of writing this, so all I can think of has to do with food and sweets. Right! Let’s shake that off first.

I love the scent of grass and trees after a summer rain. I love the scent of the sea early in the morning. I have an almost lifelong thing for Christian Dior’s Dune scent—this was the first perfume I bought while traveling to Italy as a high school student and I kept repurchasing it over the years. I love the scent of a local flower called Queen of the Night (it’s only in bloom in summer, and it blooms at night and closes up during the day).

I also love certain scents that remind me of people that are dear to me. I have a pretty good scent memory, and if someone close to me wears a scent, I will forever associate it with them in the future. So I ranted enough about scents… Clearly not a big thing to me!

So, Alina, what are you up to these days?

Umm, what am I up to? Well, happily going through 12 hour work days, I guess 😃 2017 has been a crazy busy year, and I’ve set some pretty challenging goals for myself.

At this point in time, I am drafting the second book in the Famous on the Internet series, so if there are any Br0th3rly fans here, the next book will be out in late summer. And it focuses on a travel blogger.

This has been the year of writing every single day, and so far, it’s been pretty difficult but rewarding at the same time. I am doing my best to keep it up, so I can have tons of new releases ready for those who await them. In theory at least, all my series will get sequels published this year.

Do you have any strange writing habits/rituals?

Other than keeping the coffee flowing, not really. I can write anytime, anywhere, and with anyone. All I need is my computer, maybe some free time too.

I do sometimes like listening to some music or some educational videos on YouTube (I am into hard sci-fi stuff lately, so I listen to science and futurism videos a lot), but none of that is a must. I also find it I make better progress if I do writing sessions with other writers.

Here’s a question from my previous guest, Amy Tasukada: What is one thing that has inspired a scene in your book?

Oh, so many things! Real life events, a song, a random photo I’ve seen, a certain look on a TV series character’s face. Even quotes I’ve read or poetry.

If someone hasn’t read any of your books and asks you where to start, which one would you recommend? (I know I’m evil)

Yes, you are evil! Lucky for you, I always recommend my latest book 😃 In all ddseriousness, I start by asking people what they like to read, and go from there. But if I must make a recommendation without knowing anything, I’d recommend the Lover’s Journey gay contemporary series. Dawn to Dusk and Dusk to Dawn are definitely something to set me apart, as the characters are born and raised in Romania. The stories are part coming of age, part friends to lovers, and inspired by my own experiences growing up in Romania.

What are the first two sentences on the 22 page of that book?

I’ll go with Dawn to Dusk as it’s the first 😃 And I’ll even give you the whole first paragraph!

All the worry vanished, I felt light, happy, and exhausted. I hadn’t realized just how much this fight with him had weighed me down. Before I knew it, I had drifted off and when I opened my eyes again, the rain had stopped.

A hungry vampire and a cute boy meet on a bus stop at midnight. What do they say to each other?

I really don’t think they say anything to each other. The vamp wouldn’t be able to say anything except “You look delicious” and sound creepy, and the cute boy would be too enthralled to remember how to speak. Or breathe.

What’s your OTP? (Yes, I went there^^).

Griffith and Guts from Berserk. Sorry, been watching that anime for a while now, and they just have to get together at some point. Between you and me, this is the most homoerotic manga ever. And the anime even more so. Plus, if they were smart enough to admit they wanted each other, a world of pain and evil would be prevented 😃

Weird as it might sound, I would never attempt a fan fic with these two, not for all the money in the world. But I totally think Kentaro Miura should give in and just do it! It’s never too late for these two to get together 😀

Which of your characters you’d love to have us join us in the café? Why?

Yeah, no, that one I can’t do. Sorry! It’s too hard. Fiiine… If I really had to pick one, I’d probably pick Anthony from the Bad Blood series. Not a gay story, I know, but it would still be Anthony. Because he’s wicked and gorgeous and fun. And my own guilt about his storyline would be a contributing factor 😀

One thing you want to accomplish until the end of the year.

If I can keep up with the drafting and publishing plan I set up for this year, I’d call it a huge win. Of course, I’d like a bit more success, like a number one bestseller on Amazon or something, but in more realistic terms, if I reach my writing, publishing, and sales goals, I’m good! They are ambitious enough.

 Keeping my fingers crossed that all your plans and dreams get accomplished until the end of this year and flow into the next. Thank you for being my guest, Alina!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Meet Alina Popescu

Alina Popescu, WriterWriter, traveler, and coffee addict, Alina Popescu has been in love with books all her life. She started writing when she was ten and she has always been drawn to sci-fi, fantasy, and the supernatural realm. Born and raised in Romania, she finds her inspiration in books of all genres, in movies, and the occasional manga comic book. She is a proud geek who needs her fast Internet and gadgets more than she needs air.

Keep up with Alina Popescu’s books and get a free book by singing up for her newsletter.

Social Links

Site & Blog  || Facebook  || Twitter || Instagram || Goodreads  || Google+|| Amazon

Leave a Reply

