Guest Corner: Dianne Hartsock on Writing M/M Romance and Yuri on Ice!!! 2

I always think of her as the queen of delicious chills and dark sensuality although you might not believe when you see her sunny smile. Welcome to my café, Dianne!

 Thanks so much for having me as your guest today Rian. It’s always a pleasure to visit.  And a big Hello to everyone stopping in!

So what are you up to these days?

flowers3Being a floral designer can be tough! We’ve just gone through a super busy time at work, what with Mother’s Day and high school proms. Most nights I’ve gotten home too tired to write. But now things have settled down and I’m back to my current WIP, the third novel in my ALEX series. It’s another psychological thriller, but this time with a haunted house and an honest to goodness ghost. Or so it seems… It’s been a lot of fun to write because it takes place in the old house I grew up in.

I’ve also submitted a couple of m/m erotic short stories for anthologies and am waiting to hear back on them, plus I should be starting edits on a couple of stories and one novel I have contracted for release later this year. Keeping busy!

Finish the sentence: I write M/M romance because….

I find gay men to be the most sensual, sexy creatures on the planet! And writing about them gives me the opportunity to explore their dynamic nature to my heart’s content. I love crawling into their hearts to see how hard I can push without really breaking them. I also believe that love is love and I can show that in my writing.

If someone hasn’t read any of your books and asks you where to start, which one would you recommend?

Shelton in Love. My other stories tend to get a little dark, SheltoninLove-cover2but Shelton in Love is pure romance. Shelton is a delight, sweet and true, but with a secret he’s afraid to tell. And his lover Nevil is deliciously naughty, though he loves Shelton completely. The story also spans over two years of their life together, which is fun. 

 What are the first 4 sentences on the 14 page of that book?

“Or socks,” Shelton muttered a reminder to himself as Nevil ran his fingers through his hair, sending sparks of desire through his body as he mussed his curls.

Nevil tilted his head to take in the overall effect. A lazy smile spread on his face while a warm gleam entered his fantastic eyes. “Delicious.” His gaze lingered on Shelton’s shoulders before sliding down to his hips.

If you can go somewhere to write for a whole month, where would it be?

There’s a little hotel on the Oregon Coast with huge picture windows overlooking the ocean and small kitchenettes for meals and making coffee. I’ve been there for a night or two, but it would be heavenly to be there every day writing, and to watch the sun set and let the sea lull me to sleep every night. Sigh…

A naughty fairy walks up to a sarcastic vampire at the cinema. What do they say to each other?

“Oh my.” Tris shivers in delighted anticipation, wings fluttering as the gorgeous man in front of him in line turns an ice-blue gaze on him.

“Got a problem?”

“Why? Think you can help me?”

The dark, beautiful creature barks a laugh, lips drawing back to show sharp fangs. “Find somebody else, honey. You’d be nothing more than a mouthful.”

“You sure of that?” Tris puts his hands on his hips, drawing the blue gaze downward, and snickers when the guy widens his eyes.

The vamp grabs his arm. “Come with me,” he commands and Tris trapes along to a dark corner of the theatre. This was going to be a fantastic night!

 There’s a tricky one: Which of your characters you’d love to have us join us in the café?  Why?

That would be Nico De Mira from my story NICOLAS.The story is based on the legend of St. Nicolas and the Krampus. Such a fascinating man! And since he’s been alive for over 1500 years, there’s so much he could share with us. Also, trying to keep one step ahead of the Krampus who wishes to destroy him, I’m sure he has many exciting stories to tell. And it also doesn’t hurt that he’s a gorgeous Italian with a villa on the Mediterranean Sea.

What do you want to happen in the second season of Yuri on Ice !!! ? (You should have seen that coming.^^)

Viktor and Yuri’s wedding, of course! But I’d also like to see Viktor, Yuri, and Yurio becoming closer friends. My prediction is that the three of them each win a gold medal with the winner being decided in the Grand Prix Final. I have no idea who’ll be the ultimate winner!

What’s the weirdest story you’d like to write?

Funny you should ask… What a great question! I’ve had this absurd, strange little story running around in my head for about a year now. I even have an outline done for it, the story tentatively titled: Zombies in Love. Not your typical zombie story, though. These two guys are caught up in a post-apocalyptic world. They don’t want to be zombies, don’t want to consume human flesh. But a boy’s got to eat, right? It’s humorous and nostalgic and wistful and utterly ridiculous. A story I’m really going to have to write one of these days. Since they won’t leave me alone.  

One thing you want to accomplish until the end of the year.51BWDBib1tL

I’d really like to get my ALEX story finished by summer, then start on a novel I’ve been thinking of, another story based on mythology, much like my NICOLAS story is. I enjoy taking characters from legend and putting them in a modern setting. If all goes well, I’d like to have this story done by Christmas, because I have another in mind I’d like to get busy on, a paranormal crime drama. So many ideas, so little time!

Good luck with all your plans, Dianne! It’s never easy fending off plot bunnies. 🙂 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

meDianne is the author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy adventure, m/m romance, and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer, which is the perfect job for her. When not writing, she can express herself through the rich colors and textures of flowers and foliage.

 Blog  || Facebook || Twitter ||Goodreads || Amazon

 

 

 

One thought on “Guest Corner: Dianne Hartsock on Writing M/M Romance and Yuri on Ice!!! 2

Leave a Reply

